Seattle Storm to Host Verizon WNBA All-Star 2017 on July 22

– ABC to Televise the WNBA’s First Midseason Showcase in the Emerald City –

NEW YORK, Dec. 14, 2016 – Verizon WNBA All-Star 2017 will take place at KeyArena, home of the Seattle Storm, WNBA President Lisa Borders announced today. The game will be nationally televised by ABC on Saturday, July 22 at 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. PT), and will be broadcast globally in more than 200 countries and territories.

Verizon, which became the WNBA leaguewide marquee partner in 2016, will serve as the title partner of the All-Star Game for the first time. The WNBA’s midseason showcase will be played for the first time in Seattle, which hosted the Storm’s WNBA Finals games in 2004 and 2010.

Continue Reading

Sue Bird Named to All-WNBA First Team, Stewart, Loyd All-WNBA Second Team

– Former MVPs Tina Charles, Elena Delle Donne and Maya Moore Earn First Team Honors –

NEW YORK, Oct 14, 2016 – Los Angeles Sparks forward Nneka Ogwumike, the 2016 WNBA Most Valuable Player presented by Samsung, headlines the 2016 All-WNBA First Team, the WNBA announced today. Ogwumike received First Team votes on all 39 ballots, making her the only unanimous pick from a panel of national and local sportswriters and broadcasters.

Joining Ogwumike (195 total points) on the First Team are three former WNBA MVPs in 2012 winner Tina Charles of the New York Liberty, a center who received 38 First Team votes and 193 points; 2014 winner Maya Moore of the Minnesota Lynx, a guard who received 34 First Team votes and 185 points; and 2015 winner Elena Delle Donne of the Chicago Sky, a forward who earned 27 First Team votes and 162 points. Rounding out the First Team is Sue Bird of the Seattle Storm, who garnered 19 First Team votes and 128 points.

The Second Team consists of Atlanta Dream forward Angel McCoughtry (122 points), Storm forward Breanna Stewart (117 points), Lynx center Sylvia Fowles (89 points), Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi (86 points) and Storm guard Jewell Loyd (48 points).

Continue Reading

Breanna Stewart Named 2016 WNBA Rookie of the Year Presented by Samsung

Seattle Forward Becomes Second Consecutive Storm Player to Win Award

NEW YORK (Sept. 29, 2016) – Breanna Stewart of the Seattle Storm, who led all first-year players in scoring, rebounding and blocked shots this season, has been named the 2016 WNBA Rookie of the Year presented by Samsung, the WNBA announced today. Stewart, a 6-4 forward, and Seattle guard Jewell Loyd – the 2015 winner – make the Storm the first team in WNBA history to have the Rookie of the Year in consecutive seasons.

The No. 1 overall pick in the 2016 WNBA Draft presented by State Farm, Stewart received 38 votes from a national panel of 39 sportswriters and broadcasters. San Antonio Stars guard Moriah Jefferson, Stewart’s former teammate at the University of Connecticut, was the only other player to receive a vote.

Stewart topped all rookies with 18.3 points (sixth in the WNBA), 9.3 rebounds (second) and 1.9 blocks (third). She became the sixth player in WNBA history to reach all three of those averages in the same season, joining Sylvia Fowles, Yolanda Griffith, Lauren Jackson, Lisa Leslie and Candace Parker.

Continue Reading